Skip To Main Content

You Are Here:


Saturday, May 21, 2022
H-VOLT Academy salutes graduates

H-VOLT Academy salutes graduates

November 29, 2021

The H-VOLT Academy of the UA-PTC Business and Industry Center (BIC) recently held its second graduation ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 18 on the UA-PTC Main Campus.

The H-VOLT Academy is a customized training program that equips students with the industry-specific skills for entry level employment as a lineman. Graduates receive an industry-recognized National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) credential.

"It's a win for the students. It’s a win for the employers, and it’s a win for Arkansas and beyond," said BIC director Sharon Cantrell. "Many of the partnering employers have been a part of this process since the very beginning and have worked closely alongside us every step of the way. The employers can rest assured these students are ready for work, dedicated to the mission of the energy sector."

The application process is now open for cohort 5 which is slated to begin in May, 2022. Learn more about the program here:

During the ceremony Special Awards were presented to the following students:

  • Perfect Attendance: Jared Litchfield, Ethan Miller, Thomas Robertson, Blake Lowery
  • Safety Consciousness: Jared Litchfield
  • Overall Leadership: Hunter Earnhart
  • Most Improved: Parker Zink
  • Best Climber: Haydn Burton
  • Instructor’s Choice: Justin Ward

Line workers are in high demand and enjoy lucrative careers. One of UA-PTC's corporate partners, Entergy, featured Sara Russell-Lingo, a graduate from the first H-VOLT Academy cohort in the following article: Entergy Arkansas’ First Female Line Worker ‘Loves the Adventure’

Pictured left to right: Front row H-VOLT Instructors: Barclay Bowden, David Fleeman, Bo Williams, and Brian Kelley Second row H-VOLT Students: Haydn Burton, Matthew Clark, Kyron Smith, Hunter Earnhart, Jared Litchfield, Katie Sanders, Provost Dr. Summer Deprow, Back row H-VOLT Students: David Murphy, Thomas Robertson, Parker Zink, Landon Gray, Joseph Blake Lowery, Justin Ward, Landon Dexter, Ethan Miller, Chancellor Dr. Margaret Ellibee.

Back to Newsroom

Other News You Might Like