Skip To Main Content

You Are Here:


Wednesday, June 07, 2023
Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Institute

UA - Pulaski Tech students receive culinary, hospitality scholarships

June 12, 2018
Ten University of Arkansas – Pulaski Technical College students have received a combined $13,000 in scholarships from the Arkansas Hospitality Association for the 2018-2019 academic year.
All scholarship recipients are enrolled in culinary or hospitality programs this fall at UA - Pulaski Tech's Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Institute.
Recipients include:
Jasmine Contreras of Conway received $1,000 (Culinary)
Johnathan Freeman of Greenbrier received $1,000  (Culinary)
William “Bill” Gates of Little Rock received $1,000 (Hospitality)
Maurie-Kristine Hamby of Bryant received $1,000 (Culinary)
Savannah King of Bauxite received $1,000 (Culinary)
Cloey Koon of Bryant received $1,000 (Culinary)
Jackson Kratkiewicz of Little Rock (Culinary) received special recognition for receiving the Barnes/Woods Scholarship and was awarded $4,000. The scholarship is presented to an outstanding student with a commitment to the hospitality and tourism industry and is given by Bill Barnes of Mountain Harbor Resort and Wayne Woods of CJRW advertising firm of Little Rock.
Maylin Mejia of Benton received $1,000 (Culinary)
LaSonja Moseley of Jacksonville received $1,000 (Hospitality)
Thomas Robertson of Conway received $1,000 (Culinary)
UA-PTC Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Institute Administrative Assistant Somerly Mustin received the Joe David Rice Scholarship, a one-time award presented to an outstanding student with a commitment to the hospitality industry, in honor of former Arkansas Tourism Director, Joe David Rice.
The Arkansas Hospitality Association awarded a total of $42,000 in scholarships to Arkansas students planning careers in the hospitality industry for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Funding for the scholarships comes from special gifts to the Arkansas Tourism and Hospitality Education Foundation and generous contributions from industry members and families through the silent auction at the annual Governor’s Conference on Tourism. The Arkansas Hospitality Association and its many and invaluable partners have awarded $685,550 since 1999 in scholarship awards.
The scholarships are intended to provide opportunities for professional training as well as career advancement for students pursuing jobs in hospitality fields.
"With the ever-growing interest in the tourism and hospitality industry, the Arkansas Hospitality Association is dedicated to helping develop a skilled workforce to support the industry's future growth in our state," said Montine McNulty, AHA Executive Director. "The scholarships that are provided help these students gain further knowledge and skills that will, in turn, offer numerous opportunities and success in a growing and thriving industry," McNulty said. "The Arkansas Hospitality Association is honored to be able to support these students as they pursue their education and life-long career goals."
Back to Newsroom

Other News You Might Like