Skip To Main Content

You Are Here:


Tuesday, October 04, 2022
Governor presents award to UA-PTC Diesel Tech program

Governor presents award to UA-PTC Diesel Tech program

May 02, 2018

Governor Asa Hutchinson presented a check for $13,750 to the UA - Pulaski Tech Diesel Technology Program at a gathering in his Capitol Conference Room on Monday, April 30.  The funding is from the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Licensing Commission. Monday’s presentation increases the total funding awarded to UA-PTC by the Commission to nearly $40,000.

Legislative Act 258 of 2015 gave the Commission approval to award grants to colleges and high schools that offer automotive education and training.  The Commission’s goal is to increase the state’s available workforce for the future.  UA-PTC will purchase diagnostic equipment that students will use for training. The other two grants have purchased electronic system trainers and diesel system trainers for the program.  Mrs. Joy Blankenship of Pine Bluff chairs the seven-member Commission.

(l. to r.) Dean of Technical Sciences Dick Burchett, Vice Chancellor for Advancement and Executive Director of the UA-PTC Foundation Shannon Boshears, and Commissioner Jimmy Jones of Fordyce.  ( Mr. Jones is UA-PTC Director of Financial Aid Lavonne Juhl’s father.)

Back to Newsroom

Other News You Might Like