Skip To Main Content

You Are Here:

Board of Trustees

Monday, July 06, 2020

The Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas is the institution’s governing body. The board is comprised of 10 trustees representing each of the state’s four congressional districts.

2019-2020 University of Arkansas Board of Trustees Board Committees (PDF)

John Goodson     John Goodson


John Goodson of Texarkana is a law partner at Keil & Goodson, P.A. He earned his bachelor’s degree in 1987 and law degree in 1989 from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. His term expires in 2021.

Mark Waldrip Mark Waldrip

Vice Chairman

Mark Waldrip, of Moro, is founder and Chairman of the Board of Armor Bank, Chairman of Big Creek Bancshares, LLC and owner and president of East Arkansas Seeds, Inc. Waldrip is a 1977 graduate of the University of Arkansas and was recognized with a Distinguished Alumni Award at his alma mater in 2017. His term expires in 2020.

Morril Harriman Morril Harriman


Morril Harriman of Little Rock is an attorney with the Mitchell Williams law firm. He served as Governor Mike Beebe’s chief of staff from 2007 to 2015. Prior to that, Harriman served 16 years in the Arkansas Senate. He earned both his bachelor and law degrees from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. His term expires in 2024.

Kelly Eichler Kelly Eichler

Assistant Secretary

Kelly Eichler of Little Rock is a graduate of the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. A former policy director for Gov. Asa Hutchinson, she earned a Juris Doctorate from the UALR Bowen School of Law and formerly served as a Pulaski County Deputy Prosecutor, private practice partner and Special Judge in Circuit and Juvenile Courts. Her term expires in 2026.

Ed Fryar Ed Fryar, Ph.D.


Edward (Ed) Fryar, Jr., Ph.D., of Rogers, is a graduate and former professor at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, having earned degrees in economics and agricultural economics. As a professor of agricultural economics at the UA for more than 13 years, he published articles in more than 50 professional journals to go along with his 40-plus years of experience. He co-founded Ozark Mountain Poultry in Rogers in 2000, which grew from 15 employees to more than 1,800 before selling it in 2018. He also currently serves as a member of the Agribusiness Council for the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. His term expires in 2029.

Stephen Broughton Stephen Broughton, M.D.


Stephen Broughton, M.D. of Pine Bluff is a staff psychiatrist for the Southeast Arkansas Behavioral Health System. Broughton earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and completed his medical education at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. His term expires in 2022.

C.C. “Cliff” Gibson C.C. “Cliff” Gibson III


C.C. “Cliff” Gibson III of Monticello is founder of Gibson and Keith Law Firm and serves as county attorney for Drew County, Arkansas. The former president of the Monticello Economic Development Commission, Gibson attended the University of Arkansas at Monticello and earned his Juris Doctorate degree at the UALR Bowen School of Law. His term expires in 2023.

Sheffield Nelson Sheffield Nelson


Sheffield Nelson of Little Rock is a senior partner at Jack Nelson and Jones. He earned his Juris Doctorate from the University of Arkansas School of Law and is a graduate of the Arkansas State Teachers College. Nelson is the former chairman, president and CEO of Arkla, and won the Republican nomination for Arkansas Governor in 1990 and 1994. His term expires in 2025.

toTommy Boyer Tommy Boyer


Tommy Boyer, of Fayetteville, graduated from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville in 1964, where he was also an All-American basketball player. He retired from the Eastman Kodak Company in 1989, and founded Micro Images in Amarillo, Texas. Within two years, Micro Images had become the largest Kodak document imaging systems broker and reseller in the United States. Boyer was inducted into the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame in 2013 and the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame in 2000. His term expires in 2027.

Steve Cox Steve Cox


Steve Cox, of Jonesboro, graduated from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville in 1982 after having earned All Southwest Conference and All American honors during his football career as a punter/kicker, also having played in the NFL for the Cleveland Browns and Washington Redskins. He rose through the ranks of banking before becoming a managing partner at Rainwater and Cox LLC, which oversees ownership and management of an array of commercial, hotel and agricultural properties. His term expires in 2028.